Research Framework for the Solent-Thames sub-region

This research framework covers the Solent-Thames sub-region, the western portion of the South East Region of England. It comprises of the historic counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, the Isle of Wight and Oxfordshire, including the six Berkshire Unitary Authorities, Milton Keynes, Southampton and Portsmouth.

map of the solent thames region
Map of the Solent Thames sub-region

The research framework includes:

  • An introduction to the sub-region and its environment
  • Period Resource Assessments – which describe the current level of knowledge and understanding relating to the historic environment, and explore the nature of the available resource within the area
  • Research Agenda – identify those areas where there are major gaps in our current understanding and key research questions that need to be addressed. They also suggest possible methods by which this evidence could be obtained and cross cutting themes common to many of the periods and some proposals for moving the framework forward.

PDFs of the research framework can be found on the Oxford Archaeology Digital Library –

photo of a wrecked boat on the shoreline

Cover of the Solent Thames Research Framework

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *